guide
7 of 14 Vendors Won't Say If an Abandoned Chat Bills You
Fin now defines a resolution as no further help being requested. A customer who gives up and closes the tab has not requested further help.
A customer opens a chat at 11pm, asks something the bot half answers, and closes the tab. They do not come back. Nothing was resolved and nobody was helped.
Somebody still gets billed for that conversation, and on most platforms you cannot find out in advance whether it is you.
We read the published billing terms of 14 platforms. Three state that an interaction like that one bills. Four state that it does not, and all four of those charge by the seat, so nothing bills per outcome in the first place. The remaining seven do not say.
Finding: of 14 vendors checked, 3 say abandonment can bill, 4 say it does not create a usage charge, and 7 do not publish an answer. Evidence boundary: public billing terms read in August 2026, not customer invoices. The blanks remain unknown rather than inferred.
Why abandonment is the wrong thing to be vague about
It is not a rare edge case. Walking away is one of the most common ways a support conversation ends, and it is disproportionately common when the answer was bad. Someone who gets what they needed says thanks and closes the window. Someone who did not get it also closes the window.
The two look identical in a log. If a platform bills on the second one, it is charging you for its own failures at exactly the same rate as its successes, and its published resolution rate is counting them as wins.
This is a reading of what vendors publish, not a test of what their software does. We do not run tickets through these platforms. Every row below comes from a pricing page or terms document, with the date we read it.
Fin changed its definition, and the new one is the story
On 29 July 2026, Fin's pricing page published a rate without a definition a buyer could audit. On 5 August it published this: a resolution occurs when no further help is requested after Fin's last answer. Resolutions, procedure handoffs and disqualifications are $0.99 each.
“No further help is requested after Fin's last answer.”— fin.ai/pricing, read 5 August 2026
Read that against the 11pm customer. They did not request further help. Under the published definition that is a resolution, and it costs $0.99.
The same page is explicit that a handoff is free: you are not charged when a conversation is simply passed to your team without an outcome. So Fin has drawn the line in a specific place. Escalating to a human is free. Silence is billable.
Publishing the definition at all puts Fin ahead of most of this table. It is the clearest statement of a billable event in the category, and it is clearly not in the buyer's favour. Those two facts sit together comfortably.
The full table
| Platform | Billed by | Published rate | Abandoned conversation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fin (formerly Intercom) | Per resolution | $0.99 per outcome, $9.99 per sales qualification | Bills |
| Gorgias | Per ticket | $40-$1,227/mo bundled by volume, then $0.36-0.40 per ticket and $1.50 per automated interaction | Bills |
| Tidio Lyro | Per conversation | $0-2,999/mo, two meters | Bills |
| ManyChat | Other | $0.004–$0.10 per active contact over the allowance, by tier | Bills |
| Fini | Per resolution | $0.89 or $0.69 per resolution, above a $3,000-$7,500 monthly platform fee | Not stated |
| Sierra | Per resolution | ~$1.50 per resolved interaction (reported, not published) | Not stated |
| eesel AI | Per ticket | $0.40 per regular task, $4.00 per heavy task | Not stated |
| Help Scout | Per seat | $25-75 per user per month, AI Answers $0.75 per resolution | Not stated |
| HubSpot Breeze | Per seat | $7-150 per seat per month, plus 50 credits per resolved conversation | Not stated |
| Decagon | Other | Not published | Not stated |
| Ada | Other | Not published | Not stated |
| Zendesk AI Agents | Per seat | $19-115 per agent per month billed annually, plus add-ons and a separate resolution meter | Does not bill |
| Freshdesk with Freddy AI | Per seat | $19-89 per agent per month, Freddy AI $49 per 100 sessions | Does not bill |
| HappyFox | Per seat | $24-99 per agent per month, billed annually | Does not bill |
| Zoho Desk | Per seat | $7-40 per user per month | Does not bill |
| ChatBot by Text | Per resolution | $0.99 per resolution once the allowance runs out | Does not bill |
| Chatfuel | Other | $49/month flat. No per-conversation or per-resolution charge. | Does not bill |
| WhatsApp Business Platform | Other | $2.00 per 1M tokens for Meta Business Agent messages | Does not bill |
READ FROM PUBLISHED PRICING PAGES AND TERMS · SOURCES AND DATES ON /BILLING-DEFINITIONS
The four that do not bill on abandonment are Zendesk, Freshdesk, Zoho Desk and HappyFox. Every one of them charges by the seat, so no individual conversation moves the invoice either way. That is the actual finding: the only platforms that can answer this question cleanly are the ones not charging by outcome.
Among the platforms that do meter interactions, not one publishes a statement that an abandoned conversation is free.
What the seven blanks mean
Fini, Sierra, eesel AI, Help Scout, HubSpot Breeze, Decagon and Ada do not address it in published material. Decagon and Ada publish no pricing at all, so there is nothing to be silent about — the question arrives during procurement instead.
Help Scout joined that list while this post was being written. It used to bill on contacts with unlimited agents, which meant no single conversation could move the invoice and the answer was a clean no. It now charges $25 to $75 a seat with AI Answers metered separately at $0.75 a resolution, and what triggers that charge is not defined. A pricing model changed underneath a published count in the space of a week.
A blank is not an accusation. It usually means nobody drafting the pricing page thought about the case, which is its own answer about how carefully the meter was designed.
It does mean the number on the pricing page is not comparable to the number on another pricing page. A rate of $0.69 that bills on non-reply can cost more per month than a rate of $0.99 that does not, and no comparison table in this category adjusts for it, including the ones vendors publish about each other. Our calculator does the arithmetic at your own volume, and the billing definitions hold what each vendor says triggers a charge.
The seat floor underneath
The second thing the headline rate hides is what you have to be paying already before the rate applies.
| Platform | Headline rate | What is required underneath |
|---|---|---|
| Fin (formerly Intercom) | $0.99 per outcome, $9.99 per sales qualification | Seats from $29 with the helpdesk; none on standalone Fin, which instead carries a 50-outcome monthly minimum. |
| Fini | $0.89 or $0.69 per resolution, above a $3,000-$7,500 monthly platform fee | No seats, and the human team is never charged — but there is a platform floor of $3,000 a month, which is the part the headline rate leaves out. |
| Sierra | ~$1.50 per resolved interaction (reported, not published) | Not stated |
| Gorgias | $40-$1,227/mo bundled by volume, then $0.36-0.40 per ticket and $1.50 per automated interaction | No per-agent pricing, but seats are capped rather than unlimited: 3 on Starter, 500 on Basic, Pro and Advanced. |
| eesel AI | $0.40 per regular task, $4.00 per heavy task | No seats, but you need a help desk underneath — eesel is an automation layer, not a platform. |
| Zendesk AI Agents | $19-115 per agent per month billed annually, plus add-ons and a separate resolution meter | Seats are the unit. |
| Freshdesk with Freddy AI | $19-89 per agent per month, Freddy AI $49 per 100 sessions | Seats are the unit. |
| Help Scout | $25-75 per user per month, AI Answers $0.75 per resolution | Seats are the unit. Free tier up to 5 users and 100 contacts a month. |
| Tidio Lyro | $0-2,999/mo, two meters | No. |
| HubSpot Breeze | $7-150 per seat per month, plus 50 credits per resolved conversation | Yes. Starter $7, Professional $90, Enterprise $150 — plus a mandatory one-time onboarding fee of $1,500 on Professional and $3,500 on Enterprise, which no comparison table includes. |
| HappyFox | $24-99 per agent per month, billed annually | Seats are the unit. The unlimited-agent plan we previously priced is no longer costed on the page. |
| Zoho Desk | $7-40 per user per month | Seats are the unit. |
| Decagon | Not published | Not stated |
| Ada | Not published | Not stated |
| ChatBot by Text | $0.99 per resolution once the allowance runs out | $19 per user per month annual, $25 monthly, minimum one user |
| ManyChat | $0.004–$0.10 per active contact over the allowance, by tier | No seat floor for automation; extra Inbox seats are $25 each on Pro and Business. Free tier at 25 contacts. |
| Chatfuel | $49/month flat. No per-conversation or per-resolution charge. | Not stated |
| WhatsApp Business Platform | $2.00 per 1M tokens for Meta Business Agent messages | None. No subscription and no seats — pure usage. |
Fin's $0.99 sits on an Intercom plan from $29 per seat per month if Intercom is your help desk. On Salesforce or HubSpot, Fin is sold standalone with no seats, but the page states that minimum commitments apply and does not say what they are.
Fini is the sharpest example of a floor hiding under a rate. The $0.69 quoted across this category, including by us until today, is the overage on its Scale tier — and Scale is $7,500 a month with 8,000 resolutions included. The entry price is Growth at $3,000 a month for 2,000 resolutions, then $0.89 each. There are no seat fees at all, which is genuinely unusual, and there is a $3,000 floor before a single resolution is counted.
HubSpot goes the other way and we had it backwards. Breeze bills 50 credits per resolved conversation at $9 per 1,000 credits, which is $0.45 — cheaper per outcome than Fin, Gorgias or Help Scout. We had previously called it high relative to competitors on the strength of reviewer reports rather than the rate card. The real cost is the seat underneath at $90 or $150, plus a mandatory one-time onboarding fee of $1,500 or $3,500 that no comparison table includes.
eesel AI has no seats and no monthly minimum, which is genuinely unusual, but it is an automation layer rather than a platform — you still need a help desk underneath it, and that bill does not disappear.
The three questions to get answered in writing
Before the trial ends, and in writing rather than on a call:
- What specific event triggers a charge? Ask for the sentence, not a description of it. Fin's is one line and you should expect one line.
- What happens when a customer stops replying mid-conversation? Ask them to state it either way. A vendor that will not put this in an email is telling you the answer.
- What is required underneath — seats, a platform fee, a minimum commitment? Get the floor, in dollars, at your seat count.
None of these is an unreasonable question and none requires the vendor to disclose anything commercially sensitive. The reaction to being asked is informative on its own.
How to check this yourself
Open the vendor's pricing page and search it for the words resolution, conversation and billable. If the page defines the term, the definition is usually one sentence and usually near the rate. If it does not, check the terms of service, then the billing FAQ, then stop looking — if it is not in those three places, it is not public.
Everything in the table above was found that way, in about ten minutes per vendor. Every row is dated on our billing definitions page, and if a vendor has since published a clearer answer, tell us and it gets corrected and re-dated.
Frequently Asked
If a customer stops replying to an AI chatbot, does the company still get charged?
It depends entirely on the platform, and on most of them you cannot find out in advance. Of 14 platforms whose published billing terms we read in August 2026, three confirm that an interaction of that kind bills, seven do not address it at all, and the four that clearly do not bill are all charging per seat, where no single conversation affects the invoice. Fin's published definition — a resolution is when no further help is requested after its last answer — means a customer who gives up meets the condition for a $0.99 charge.
What actually counts as a resolution in AI customer service pricing?
There is no shared definition, which is why headline rates are not comparable. Fin defines it as no further help being requested after its last answer, and charges $0.99 for resolutions, procedure handoffs and disqualifications alike. Gorgias bills per inbound ticket, so outcomes are irrelevant and failures bill the same as successes. Sierra negotiates outcome-based pricing per customer and publishes nothing. Ask each vendor for the triggering event in one sentence.
Is a cheaper per-resolution rate actually cheaper?
Not reliably, and the headline rate is often not even the rate. Fini's widely quoted $0.69 is the overage on a $7,500-a-month tier; its entry plan is $3,000 a month at $0.89. Beyond that, a meter that runs when a customer abandons the chat is charging for your failures as well as your successes, so a nominally cheaper rate can produce a larger invoice. Compare the definitions and the floors before the rates, and get all three in writing.
Why do AI support platforms charge a seat fee on top of a per-resolution rate?
Because the per-resolution product usually needs a help desk underneath it, and the vendor sells that too. Fin's $0.99 sits on an Intercom plan from $29 per seat per month when Intercom is your help desk. HubSpot bills $0.45 a resolution on top of a $90 or $150 seat, plus a one-time onboarding fee of $1,500 or $3,500. eesel AI charges no seats but still requires a help desk you are paying for separately, and Fini charges no seats but has a $3,000 monthly floor. The headline rate is the marginal cost, never the total.
How do I ask a vendor about abandoned conversation billing without sounding difficult?
Ask it as a scenario rather than a challenge: 'A customer asks a question at 11pm, gets an answer, and never replies. Is that billable, and under which line item?' It is a normal procurement question, it takes them ten seconds to answer if the answer is documented, and the length of the pause tells you whether it is.
Tools Mentioned
Full reviews, pricing tiers and where each one breaks.
Fin (formerly Intercom)
SalesforceThe most polished autonomous agent on the market, attached to the pricing model buyers complain about most — and now being bought by Salesforce.
Gorgias
The Shopify-native default, with the deepest order, return and refund actions in this category.
Tidio Lyro
One of the few genuinely cheap autonomous agents, bundled with live chat and a basic help desk.
eesel AI
Trains on your existing docs and tickets and works inside the help desk you already run, instead of replacing it.
You Can Also Look Into
35 of 47 Google Results for AI Support Are Vendor-Written
Six AI customer service buying searches, with every page-one result classified by who published it. Full result lists, method and screenshots.
Per-Resolution Pricing Explained - Why Your Bill Grows as the AI Improves (2026)
The billing model most of this category adopted has a structural flaw: the better your AI performs, the more you pay.
AI Customer Service Pricing in 2026: Per-Resolution vs Per-Seat, Modelled
Published rates from fourteen vendors, the total cost modelled at three team sizes, and the per-seat alternative that ranking pages leave out because none of them sell it.
Only 38 of 84 AI Customer Service Vendors Publish Their Pricing
The full count across 84 platforms, the categories where transparency collapses entirely, and what a hidden price actually costs you.
WRITTEN BY AR · UPDATED 2026-08-05
I read the fine print. Vendor pricing pages, billing definitions, terms, funding filings and acquisition notices — then I do the arithmetic nobody publishes: what a platform actually costs at your volume, what its headline metric is really counting, and who owns it now. I do not run benchmarks, and no page here pretends otherwise.