alternatives
12 Best Zendesk Alternatives in 2026, Priced Against What Zendesk Actually Costs
Every list of Zendesk alternatives is written by someone selling one
Search this and you get lists written by vendors who appear in them. That is not a conspiracy, it is an economic fact: comparison content is cheap to produce and it converts, so the people with a reason to produce it are the people selling one of the answers.
This page sells nothing and takes no vendor money. Here is the short version before the detail.
**Staying on Zendesk and layering an agent on top is the right answer more often than this page's title implies.** If your complaint is the AI rather than the help desk, eesel at $0.40 a task solves it without a migration. **Leaving is worth it when the seat bill is the problem**, and Freshdesk at $18 or Zoho Desk at $7 an agent are the two that change the number materially. **If you sell on Shopify, Gorgias is a different product rather than a cheaper one**, and it is the only one here whose AI reads live order data.
Everything below is priced. Where a vendor will not publish a rate, that is recorded as the finding rather than filled in with a guess.
How we evaluated these
Five things, applied identically to all twelve, and all of them checkable without a sales call.
- **The published price, with the date we read it.** Not a range from a comparison site. If the vendor gates the rate, the row says sales call required, and that is a finding rather than a gap.
- **What triggers a charge.** The billable event decides your invoice far more than the headline rate does. A platform charging $0.49 that bills on every session can cost more than one charging $0.99 that bills only on a confirmed resolution.
- **What the AI can actually do** — change something in your systems, answer from your documentation, or draft for a human to send. Three different products sold with one phrase.
- **The migration cost from Zendesk specifically**, taken from each vendor's own importer documentation, including what it admits it cannot bring across.
- **Whether you can evaluate it tonight.** A free tier or self-serve signup is worth more during evaluation than any feature, because it is the only way to test the thing against your own tickets before committing.
What we did **not** do is rank these on resolution quality. We do not run a benchmark, and a league table implying we had measured one would be the single most misleading thing on this page. Where that measurement is missing, this page says so and tells you how to run it yourself.
What Zendesk actually costs, re-read on 25 August 2026
Most comparisons price Zendesk wrong, and they get it wrong in a specific way that flatters the alternative. Here is what the page says today.
| Plan or add-on | Price | Unit | What it adds |
|---|---|---|---|
| Support Team | US$19 | per agent per month, billed annually | Email and ticketing, automations, triggers |
| Suite Team | US$55 | per agent per month, billed annually | AI agents and AI knowledge base, unified channels |
| Suite Professional | US$115 | per agent per month, billed annually | Admin copilot, app builder, advanced insights |
| Suite Enterprise | Quoted | — | Not published |
| Copilot | US$50 | per agent per month, on top | Agent assistance |
| Workforce Engagement | US$50 | per agent per month, on top | Quality and scheduling |
| Contact Center | US$83 | per agent per month, on top | Voice |
Read directly from zendesk.com/pricing on 25 August 2026. **The unit matters more than the numbers.** The page server-renders only the annual figures; the monthly toggle is computed in your browser, and the monthly rates appear zero times in the HTML. So $19 against the $25 that circulates widely is not a price cut — it is the annual discount, which the page advertises as 20% off. Any comparison that puts Zendesk's annual price next to a competitor's monthly price is off by about a fifth, in the competitor's favour.
The seat price is also not the bill. A ten-agent team on Suite Professional with Copilot is $115 plus $50 an agent, which is $1,650 a month before a single AI resolution is billed. Zendesk's automated resolutions are charged separately at roughly $1.50 to $2.00 depending on whether you commit or pay as you go, and there is no included allowance.
That last detail is the one to hold while reading everything below. Zendesk is a per-seat product with a per-resolution meter bolted on and two per-seat add-ons beside it. Comparing it to anything on a single number is the mistake this page exists to prevent.
The three questions that decide this, before any list
Most people arriving here have already decided to leave and are looking for permission. It is worth thirty seconds on whether the decision is the right one, because two of the three common reasons for leaving Zendesk are not solved by leaving Zendesk.
1. Is the problem the help desk, or the AI on top of it?
If your complaint is that automated resolutions cost $1.50 to $2.00 with no allowance, migrating the entire help desk is an expensive way to fix a pricing objection about one component. Layered agents attach to the Zendesk you already run at a fraction of that, and the migration cost is zero because there is no migration.
If your complaint is the seat bill, that is a genuine reason to move, and the difference is large: Freshdesk Growth at $18 or Zoho Desk Express at $7 against Suite Team at $55.
2. Do you need the agent to act, or to answer?
This is the question that most changes which of the twelve is right, and it is the one vendor marketing deliberately blurs. An agent that answers from your documentation is a different product from one that can look up an order and issue a refund, and both are sold as an AI agent.
| What the software can do | Tools | Publishes a price | Can be bought without a call | Has a free tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Can change something in your systemsissues the refund, updates the order, closes the ticket | 61 | 28 of 61 (46%) | 23 of 61 (38%) | 13 of 61 (21%) |
| Answers from your documentationa good answer, but nothing in your systems moves | 10 | 9 of 10 (90%) | 9 of 10 (90%) | 7 of 10 (70%) |
| Drafts for a human to senda person still reads it and presses send | 11 | 6 of 11 (55%) | 6 of 11 (55%) | 0 of 11 (0%) |
Capability from the agentic classification in our own reviews, read on each vendor’s documentation. Pricing from the transparency count, every row read on the vendor’s own page. Loris is excluded from the capability column: Contentsquare no longer ships a product under that name, so there is nothing to classify.
Read that split against your own tickets. If most of your volume is where-is-my-order, an agent that cannot see orders will deflect almost none of it however well it writes.
3. How much ticket history do you actually need?
Every vendor on this page will import your tickets. The question is what else comes with them, and the answer is consistently less than people assume — which is the subject of the next section, because it is the cost that decides whether a migration is worth doing at all.
The migration cost nobody puts in the comparison
Comparison pages price the destination. Nobody prices the move, and the move is where the money goes.
The reliable pattern across every importer we have read is this: **tickets come across cleanly, and the logic does not.** Macros, triggers, automations, SLA policies, business hours, routing rules, custom fields and views are rebuilt by hand at the far end. A Zendesk instance that has been running for four years has accumulated hundreds of these, most of them undocumented, several of them load-bearing, and at least one that nobody remembers writing.
| What moves | Automatic | Manual rebuild | Frequently lost | What that costs you |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ticket history and threads | Yes | — | — | Nothing. Every importer here handles it. |
| Contacts and organisations | Yes | — | — | Nothing, unless you use custom org fields. |
| Attachments | Usually | Sometimes re-hosted | Old or very large files | Check the age cutoff before you commit. |
| Help centre articles | Usually | Formatting and structure | Article version history | A week of reformatting on a large knowledge base. |
| Macros and canned replies | — | Rebuilt one by one | — | About 15 minutes each. Count yours. |
| Triggers and automations | — | Rebuilt one by one | Anything using a Zendesk-specific field | The single largest line. Undocumented logic surfaces here. |
| SLA policies and business hours | — | Rebuilt | — | Half a day, and easy to get wrong quietly. |
| Custom fields and forms | Partially | Mapping by hand | Field history on old tickets | Reporting on historic tickets breaks. |
| Reporting history and dashboards | — | — | Almost always | Your year-on-year comparison stops working in the month you move. |
| Apps built on the Zendesk framework | — | — | Entirely | Rewritten from scratch. Budget it as new engineering. |
Two rows there are the expensive ones. **Reporting history is almost always lost**, which means the year-on-year comparison your board asks for in January stops working in whichever month you moved. And **anything built on the Zendesk apps framework is bespoke work that does not port at all**, so a team that has invested in Zendesk apps is paying to write them twice.
Budget the rebuild in weeks, not hours, and run both systems in parallel for at least one full week. A week of overlap costs one month of double licence fees and saves you from discovering the gaps with live customers.
The twelve alternatives
Ordered by who they suit rather than by preference. Each card below renders from our typed dataset, with a provenance tag per row, so the facts and the prose cannot drift apart. The prose is our read; the card is the evidence.
Freshdesk — The like-for-like swap, and the one whose AI meter people misread
| Price | $18/agent/mo (Growth) | [read 2026-04-17] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | $19-89 per agent per month, Freddy AI $49 per 100 sessions | [read 2026-07-29] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | Yes | [vendor] |
| What the AI can do | Answers from documentation | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Not established | [silent] |
| Annual discount | None published | [silent] |
| Minimum commitment | None published | [silent] |
Freshdesk is the closest structural match to Zendesk in the category: a full multi-channel help desk with tiers that map almost one to one onto Zendesk's, sold by a public company that files 10-Ks. If your objection to Zendesk is the bill rather than the product, this is the first place to look.
The seat price is genuinely lower. Where Zendesk's entry Suite tier is $55 an agent a month billed annually, Freshdesk's Growth is $18 and Pro is $59. On a fifteen-agent team that is $3,240 a year against $9,900 before anyone touches AI.
The AI is a separate meter and it is the part most comparisons get wrong, including ours until August. Freddy AI Agent bills at $49 per 100 sessions, which is **$0.49 a session**, with the first 500 sessions included once per account rather than monthly. A session is a 72-hour window from the customer's first message and every AI reply inside it counts once. It bills whether or not anything is resolved, so the meter tracks traffic rather than performance.
That last point is the honest comparison against Zendesk, which charges per automated resolution. Freshdesk is cheaper per unit and charges for more units. At 9,000 tickets a month with 500 included, you are buying 8,500 sessions at $0.49 for $4,165 whether the agent succeeds or not.
Help Scout — The one that changed its billing unit, and why that matters more than the rate
| Price | $0 (Free) | [read 2026-08-05] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | $25-75 per user per month, AI Answers $0.75 per resolution | [read 2026-08-05] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | Yes | [vendor] |
| What the AI can do | Answers from documentation | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Not established | [silent] |
| Annual discount | 16% | [vendor] |
| Minimum commitment | None published | [silent] |
Help Scout is the choice for teams whose complaint about Zendesk is that it feels like enterprise software operated by people who are not enterprises. It is deliberately smaller in scope, and the interface is the reason people move.
It is also the only vendor in this list to have changed the thing it charges for. Help Scout moved from per-seat to contact-based pricing and then back toward seats, and the swing between the two models was roughly tenfold for some accounts. Anyone quoting a Help Scout price from a comparison written before 2026 is quoting a model that no longer exists.
Today: Free at $0, Standard $25 a user a month, Plus $45, Pro $75. AI Answers is an add-on at **$0.75 per resolution**, available on every tier with a three-month free trial.
Against Zendesk the arithmetic is close on seats and much better on AI. $0.75 a resolution against Zendesk's $1.50 to $2.00 is roughly half, and Help Scout's free tier means you can evaluate the whole product without a card. The trade is scope: no voice, thinner reporting, and an automation model that a Zendesk admin will find restrictive.
Gorgias — Only if you sell on Shopify, and then it is not really an alternative at all
| Price | $40/mo, monthly only (Starter) | [read 2026-08-25] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | $40-$1,227/mo bundled by volume, then $0.36-0.40 per ticket and $1.50 per automated interaction | [read 2026-08-25] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | No | [silent] |
| What the AI can do | Acts on your systems | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Vendor ships it — App Store connection, which installs that app's actions pre-built | [read 2026-08-16] |
| Annual discount | None published | [silent] |
| Minimum commitment | None published | [silent] |
Gorgias is the strongest option on this page for exactly one buyer and the wrong answer for everybody else. It is ecommerce-native, and its AI reads live order data from a connected store rather than answering from a policy page.
That distinction is the whole product. Ask Zendesk's agent where an order is and it can tell you what your shipping policy says. Ask Gorgias and it can look up the order. Its documentation goes further and publishes a money-direction rule nobody else does: the agent refunds a decrease on its own and hands over when the total increases.
Pricing is by ticket volume rather than by seat, and Gorgias repriced in August 2026 to lead with the helpdesk and the AI Agent bundled. Today that is $40 a month for 50 tickets, $77 for 300, $471 for 2,000 and $1,227 for 5,000 billed annually, with the two components still itemised underneath. Overage runs $0.40 a ticket, $0.36 at the top two tiers, and $1.50 per automated interaction at every tier — the highest published AI rate we hold anywhere. Seats are generous rather than unlimited: 3 on Starter, 500 on everything above it.
Two things to know before switching. The AI Agent requires a connected Shopify store, so it is not a general-purpose help desk with an ecommerce mode. And Gorgias publishes something no competitor does: on its own onboarding page it states the average time to launch is 60 days, even for brands with multiple stores. That is the honest number for the simplest platform in this comparison.
Zoho Desk — The cheapest credible ticketing on this page, with the AI priced by the token
| Price | $7/user/mo (Express) | [read 2026-08-11] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | $7-40 per user per month | [read 2026-07-29] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | Yes | [vendor] |
| What the AI can do | Acts on your systems | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Not established | [silent] |
| Annual discount | None published | [silent] |
| Minimum commitment | None published | [silent] |
Zoho Desk is the price floor for a real help desk. Express is $7 a user a month, Standard $14, Professional $23, Enterprise $40. Against Zendesk's $55 entry Suite tier that is a different order of spend.
The AI position changed in 2026 and is now unusual. Zoho bills the **model** rather than the outcome: 30 million tokens a month free, then $0.50 per million on Standard or $1.50 on Professional, or nothing at all if you bring your own OpenAI, Gemini or Claude key. Nobody else in this list lets you supply your own model and stop paying the AI meter.
The catch is the one that applies to all of Zoho: the value is highest if you already use other Zoho products, and as a standalone purchase the integration advantage disappears. Teams that adopt Zoho Desk alone frequently describe the same experience — capable, cheap, and less polished than the category leaders on the interface.
There is also a standing caveat on our own figures here. zoho.com serves rupee pricing from our location, so the USD tiers above date from an earlier read and we do not convert a currency and call it verified.
Fin, formerly Intercom — The best agent in the category, on the pricing model people complain about most
| Price | $29/seat/mo (Essential) | [read 2026-08-25] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | $0.99 per outcome, $9.99 per sales qualification | [read 2026-08-25] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | No | [silent] |
| What the AI can do | Acts on your systems | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Vendor ships it — Actions through the help desk's own API | [read 2026-08-05] |
| Annual discount | None published | [silent] |
| Minimum commitment | Unstated. "Minimum commitments apply." | [vendor] |
Fin is the product most teams leaving Zendesk for AI reasons end up shortlisting, and by most accounts it is the most capable autonomous agent available. It is also the one whose pricing generates the loudest complaints, and both things are true at once.
Seats run $29, $99 and $139 a seat a month, and the agent bills **$0.99 per resolution** on top. Intercom publishes that rate, which is more than most of its competitors manage, and the definition behind it is what decides your invoice.
The definitional point is worth the detour because it recurs across this whole page. In June 2026 Intercom changed how it calculates Fin's resolution rate. On its own worked example of 1,000 conversations and 250 resolved, the old method gave 250 of 750 for 33% and the new one gives 250 of 500 for 50%. Seventeen points, the same 250 resolutions, the same invoice. Both figures remain queryable in the product, one labelled legacy.
The structural warning: a per-resolution deal gets more expensive precisely as the product gets better, so a contract that looks cheap during evaluation is repriced by your own success. And there is now an ownership question on top. Salesforce agreed to acquire the company on 15 June 2026 for roughly $3.6 billion. Salesforce already sells Agentforce at $2 a conversation, and nobody has said which product survives.
HubSpot Service Hub — Right if the CRM is the point, expensive if it is not
| Price | $20/seat/mo (Service Hub Starter) | [read 2026-08-11] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | $7-150 per seat per month, plus 50 credits per resolved conversation | [read 2026-08-05] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | Yes | [vendor] |
| What the AI can do | Acts on your systems | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Vendor ships it — CRM property updates and workflow actions | [read 2026-08-11] |
| Annual discount | None published | [silent] |
| Minimum commitment | $1,500 onboarding on Professional, $3,500 on Enterprise. One-time and unavoidable. | [vendor] |
HubSpot is the alternative for teams whose actual problem is that support and sales data live in different systems. Service Hub sits on the same customer record as the CRM and the marketing tools, and that is the entire argument for it.
Seats start at $20 a seat a month and run to $150. The number that catches people is not the seat price: HubSpot charges **$1,500 onboarding on Professional and $3,500 on Enterprise**, one-time and unavoidable. That is a floor which does not buy you any software, and it is the largest published onboarding fee in this comparison.
Against Zendesk it is a wash on ticketing and a clear win on unified data, provided you are already a HubSpot customer. If you are not, you are buying a CRM to get a help desk.
Front — A shared inbox that got good, for teams whose support is really account management
| Price | Published, see below | [vendor] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | Not stated publicly | [silent] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | No | [silent] |
| What the AI can do | Drafts for a human to send | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Not established | [silent] |
| Annual discount | 24% | [vendor] |
| Minimum commitment | None published | [silent] |
Front is the one on this list that is not trying to be Zendesk. It is a shared inbox built around email, and it suits teams where the same person handles the same customer repeatedly — agencies, logistics, B2B account support — rather than teams working an anonymous queue.
Its AI is honest about its own scope and sits on the assist side of the line: it drafts for a human to send rather than resolving autonomously. For a lot of the work Front is bought for, that is the correct design rather than a limitation.
Move here if your objection to Zendesk is that ticketing is the wrong metaphor for your business. Do not move here expecting deflection.
Chatwoot — The open-source option that is a real product, with the real self-hosting bill
| Price | $0 (Hacker (cloud)) | [read 2026-07-28] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | Not stated publicly | [silent] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | Yes | [vendor] |
| What the AI can do | Acts on your systems | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Not established | [silent] |
| Annual discount | None published | [silent] |
| Minimum commitment | None published | [silent] |
Chatwoot is the credible open-source answer. Self-hosted it is free, and the cloud version runs $19, $39 and $99 an agent a month, so you can start on your own infrastructure and move to cloud later without changing product.
Free is not the same as cheap, and the honest accounting is the part these comparisons always omit. Self-hosting means a server, backups, TLS certificates, SMTP that actually reaches inboxes, upgrades, and somebody's time when it breaks at 2am. Deliverability alone defeats more self-hosted help desk deployments than any missing feature.
The crossover is roughly where the cost of that person's time exceeds the seat bill you were avoiding, which for most teams arrives sooner than expected. Chatwoot is the right answer for teams that already run infrastructure and wrong for teams that would be learning to.
Tidio with Lyro — Cheap on the sticker, two meters underneath it
| Price | $0 (Free) | [read 2026-08-11] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | $0-2,999/mo, two meters | [read 2026-07-29] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | Yes | [vendor] |
| What the AI can do | Answers from documentation | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Not established | [silent] |
| Annual discount | None published | [silent] |
| Minimum commitment | None published | [silent] |
Tidio is aimed below Zendesk's floor and reaches a segment Zendesk has largely stopped serving. Free at $0, then $24.17, $49.17 and $300 a month.
The pricing has two meters and they interact, which is where the surprises come from. Lyro conversations are metered separately from the Flows quota, and a proactive role consumes both — it executes as a flow and it also counts as one piece of Guidance used. Two quotas, neither of them the one you would think to check.
There is also an allowance trap worth reading twice: Starter's 50 Lyro conversations are a one-time allowance, not monthly. Teams model it as recurring and it is not.
Re:amaze — Quietly competent, and owned by GoDaddy since 2021
| Price | $59/mo (Starter) | [read 2026-08-11] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | Not stated publicly | [silent] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | No | [silent] |
| What the AI can do | Answers from documentation | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Vendor ships it — Store data read into the agent | [read 2026-08-11] |
| Annual discount | 10% | [vendor] |
| Minimum commitment | None published | [silent] |
Re:amaze is a multi-channel help desk with strong ecommerce integrations, at $59 a month and up. It is the least-discussed product on this page and one of the more capable at the price.
The thing to know is the ownership. GoDaddy acquired it on 6 April 2021, and the product has been maintained rather than aggressively developed since. That is not a disqualification — a maintained product that does the job is a legitimate purchase — but it is the sort of fact that belongs in a multi-year decision and never appears in a vendor-written comparison.
Its AI reads store and order data into the answer rather than writing back to it. Good for informed replies, not for resolution.
HappyFox — The one whose maths inverts above seventeen seats
| Price | $24/agent/mo (Basic) | [read 2026-08-05] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | $24-99 per agent per month, billed annually | [read 2026-08-05] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | No | [silent] |
| What the AI can do | Drafts for a human to send | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Not established | [silent] |
| Annual discount | 20% | [vendor] |
| Minimum commitment | None published | [silent] |
HappyFox prices per agent at $24 to $99 a month and also sells unlimited-agent plans. The interesting property is the crossover: the unlimited plan becomes cheaper than per-agent pricing at around seventeen seats, and below that it does not.
That makes it a genuinely good fit for a specific shape of team — one with many occasional users, such as retail locations or field staff who touch the queue rarely. For a compact full-time support team the per-agent tiers are ordinary.
Its AI is on the assist side rather than the autonomous side, which is worth checking against your reason for leaving Zendesk.
eesel AI — Not a help desk at all, and that is the point
| Price | $40/mo (Pay as you go) | [read 2026-07-28] |
|---|---|---|
| Billable unit | $0.40 per regular task, $4.00 per heavy task | [read 2026-07-29] |
| Buy without a call | Yes | [vendor] |
| Free tier | Yes | [vendor] |
| What the AI can do | Acts on your systems | [derived] |
| Who builds the reach | Not established | [silent] |
| Annual discount | 25% | [vendor] |
| Minimum commitment | None on pay-as-you-go. Enterprise starts at $1,000 a month. | [vendor] |
eesel is the option that lets you keep Zendesk. It layers an AI agent onto the help desk you already run, which means no migration, no retraining, and no moving ticket history.
It bills $0.40 per regular task and $4.00 per advanced one, with a 25% annual discount and no floor on pay-as-you-go. Enterprise starts at $1,000 a month.
For a large share of the teams searching for Zendesk alternatives, this is the answer to the actual question. The complaint is usually the AI pricing or the AI quality rather than the help desk itself, and replacing the help desk to fix the agent is the most expensive available solution to that problem.
Three we are recommending against, and why
A list that includes everything is a directory, not a recommendation. Three obvious candidates are deliberately absent and each absence is defensible.
Kustomer — because of what it charges for
Kustomer is a capable platform and its billing definition is the reason it is not here. It bills an engaged conversation when the AI attempted to generate a response regardless of whether it was sent, and also when an AI team merely viewed or opened the conversation without replying. That is a meter that charges for looking at the ticket.
Some buyers will read that and be untroubled, which is why it is named rather than hidden. But a team leaving Zendesk over unpredictable AI costs should not move to a meter that is harder to predict than the one they left.
Zowie — because you cannot evaluate it tonight
Zowie is genuinely good at the acting end and it is demo-gated with no published rate. For an enterprise procurement cycle that is normal and fine. For the buyer this page is written for, it means you cannot compare it against the eleven others without spending a fortnight in a sales process first, and by then the anchoring has already happened.
Salesforce Service Cloud — because it is not an alternative to Zendesk
It is a larger version of the same decision. Moving from Zendesk to Salesforce is not an escape from enterprise support software, it is a deeper commitment to it, with a longer implementation and a bigger consulting bill. Our own reading of the Agentforce setup found nine configuration objects required to put one agent on one web chat, and that is exercise two of four in Salesforce's own workshop.
There is also a live ownership question. Salesforce agreed to buy Fin, formerly Intercom, in June 2026. Anyone choosing between Salesforce and Fin on a three-year term is choosing between two products with the same owner.
What buyers actually say, and one thread that proves the point
Vendors publish the rate. Only buyers publish the surprise, so four threads are worth more here than any feature table — read as what they are.
The clearest statement of the real decision came from a B2B SaaS team on r/SaaS in May 2026:
“We're a B2B SaaS company currently running Zendesk for tickets and Intercom for live chat + knowledge base. Small support team (2 support agents), and we're looking to consolidate and bring costs down.”— r/SaaS, 11 May 2026
That is one team's account rather than a finding of fact, and it describes the modal case precisely: two agents, two tools, and consolidation as the driver. At that size the seat bill is small and the AI meter is the whole decision, which is why the layered-agent answer beats migration for teams shaped like this one.
A thread on r/ModernITSM in August 2026 named the cost this page spends longest on:
“Here is the honest answer: what ITSM actually requires, and the hidden costs and customizations that only surface after you commit.”— r/ModernITSM, 3 August 2026
The context there is IT service management rather than customer support, so the specifics do not transfer. The mechanism does, and it is the one our migration table above is built around: the customisation you cannot see during evaluation is the customisation you rebuild after signing.
On Hacker News in August 2026 a developer described what they were building in one line — **“A free Intercom, Zendesk alternative”** — which is a fair summary of why the open-source options on this page keep appearing. The pull is real; the operational cost of self-hosting is the part that thread does not price.
And the thread that makes this page's opening argument for us
In June 2026 a post titled **“Best Zendesk Alternatives for Small Businesses in 2026”** was published to **r/issuetrak** — the subreddit of Issuetrak, a help desk vendor.
We are not alleging deception: the subreddit is named after the company and anyone can see whose it is. But it is a clean illustration of the thing this page opened with. A list of Zendesk alternatives, published in a venue owned by a company that sells a Zendesk alternative, is not a comparison. It is marketing wearing the shape of one, and it will rank.
Reddit and Hacker News are untrusted public text and this site treats them that way. Every thread above is cited with its date so you can read the whole thing rather than our excerpt, and no price or count on this page rests on any of them.
What the review scores are worth, which is less than the counts
Every comparison in this category leans on G2 scores, and the scores are the least informative thing on the page. Nine of our twelve have a G2 profile and the ratings sit in a band of four tenths of a point, from 4.3 to 4.7. Nothing is decided by that.
| Platform | G2 rating | Reviews behind it | What the count tells you |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zoho Desk | 4.4 | 6,522 | Deepest sample here. A 4.4 on 6,522 is a real signal. |
| Zendesk | 4.3 | 6,214 | Lowest rating, second-deepest sample. Scale attracts complaints. |
| Freshdesk | 4.4 | 3,522 | Same rating as Zoho on half the sample. |
| Fin (Intercom) | 4.5 | 3,409 | Strong and well-evidenced. |
| HubSpot Service Hub | 4.4 | 2,523 | Reflects the whole suite, not the help desk alone. |
| Tidio | 4.7 | 1,751 | Highest rating on this page, from a different buyer segment. |
| Gorgias | 4.6 | 520 | High, on a tenth of Zendesk's sample. |
| Help Scout | 4.4 | 409 | Small sample; treat the score as directional. |
| HappyFox | 4.5 | 255 | Smallest sample here. A quarter-point gap means little at n=255. |
Two readings, and the second is the useful one. **Zendesk carries the lowest rating and nearly the largest sample**, which is what happens to any incumbent: scale attracts both volume and grievance, and a 4.3 across 6,214 reviews is not evidence of a bad product. **A 4.6 or 4.7 on a few hundred reviews is not evidence of a better one either.**
The rule we apply, and it is worth applying to any comparison you read: **treat a rating as noise below about 500 reviews, and never compare two ratings drawn from samples an order of magnitude apart.** Three of the twelve here — Front, Chatwoot, Re:amaze — have no G2 row in our dataset at all, and eesel does not either. Absence of a score is not a mark against them; it means the sample does not exist yet.
Ratings and counts as recorded in our own dataset. G2 blocks automated reads, so these were captured when each tool page was built and carry that page's date rather than today's. Counts move slowly and ratings move more slowly still, but check the live profile before quoting one in a business case.
Who owns Zendesk, and why it belongs in this decision
One fact that shapes everything above and appears in almost no comparison: **Zendesk is not a public company and has not been since 2022.**
From its own filing with the SEC, an 8-K dated 18 November 2022:
“Merger Sub will merge with and into Zendesk (the “Merger”), with Zendesk surviving the Merger as a wholly owned subsidiary of Parent. Parent and Merger Sub are affiliates of funds advised by Hellman & Friedman LLC and Permira Advisers LLC.”— Zendesk, Inc., Form 8-K filed 18 November 2022 (SEC)
GIC and Platinum Falcon are named as indirect investors in the same filing. Zendesk traded on the NYSE as ZEN until the deal closed; the merger agreement was signed on 24 June 2022.
Why this matters to a buyer rather than to an analyst: a private-equity-owned vendor has no obligation to publish anything, and Zendesk publishes no enterprise rate. Compare that with Freshworks, which is still public, files a 10-K, and told the SEC in February 2026 that its go-to-market rests on “transparent pricing and a go-to-market strategy that allows us to efficiently serve organizations of all sizes”. One of those two companies has a filed, legally consequential reason to keep publishing its prices. The other does not.
That is not a reason to avoid Zendesk. It is a reason to get the renewal rate and any cap in writing before you sign, because the pricing pressure on a PE-owned vendor points in one direction and your leverage is highest before the contract exists.
How to choose, in one table
Match the row that describes your actual complaint.
| If your problem is | The answer is | Because |
|---|---|---|
| The AI costs too much, the help desk is fine | eesel, or Help Scout AI Answers | $0.40 a task or $0.75 a resolution against $1.50-2.00, with no migration in the first case |
| The seat bill | Zoho Desk or Freshdesk | $7 or $18 an agent against $55, on a comparable ticketing product |
| You sell on Shopify | Gorgias | The only one whose agent reads live order data and can act on it |
| Support is really account management | Front | Shared inbox rather than a queue; ticketing is the wrong metaphor |
| Many occasional users | HappyFox unlimited | The maths inverts around seventeen seats |
| Support and sales data are split | HubSpot Service Hub | One customer record, but budget the $1,500-3,500 onboarding |
| You want the best agent and can absorb variable billing | Fin | Most capable, published rate, and the bill rises as it improves |
| You already run infrastructure | Chatwoot self-hosted | Free software, real operational cost |
| You are below Zendesk's floor | Tidio | Built for that segment, but read both meters |
Check it yourself, in about thirty minutes
Nothing on this page requires trusting us, and the single most useful half hour of any evaluation is this one rather than a demo.
- **Export your last 1,000 tickets from Zendesk.** Admin Center, then Reporting, then the ticket export. Fifteen minutes including the wait for the email.
- **Count what fraction needed a system lookup** — an order status, an account state, a subscription. That percentage is the ceiling on what a documentation-only agent can ever deflect for you, and it is the number that decides half this page.
- **Count your active macros, triggers and automations.** Admin Center lists all three. That count, times roughly fifteen minutes each, is your rebuild estimate and it is the real migration cost.
- **Open your last twelve months of AI resolution charges.** Divide by resolutions to get your true unit cost, then multiply by each alternative's rate above.
- **Sign up for two alternatives with free tiers and replay twenty real tickets through each.** Help Scout, Tidio, Chatwoot and Zoho all allow this without a card.
Pass or fail: if fewer than a fifth of your tickets need a system lookup, a cheaper documentation-only agent will serve you and the seat price is the only thing that matters. If more than half do, the reach question decides everything and price is secondary.
What this page does not know
The missing measurement is resolution quality: which of these twelve agents answers a given ticket correctly, on identical inputs, at identical configuration.
Producing it would need one seeded environment — the same help centre, the same order data, the same twenty to thirty standardised tickets across order status, refund request, policy question, angry escalation and out-of-scope — run through every platform in the same week, scored for resolution quality, hallucination and escalation behaviour. Then repeating it, because a single run is a data point about one afternoon.
Nobody publishes that. The analyst firms that could are paid by the vendors they would be scoring, and the vendors publish their own resolution rates using definitions that are not comparable — the same vendor moved its own published rate seventeen points in June by changing the denominator.
**This page has not run it either.** Everything above is read off vendor pages, importer documentation and our own typed records. We do not publish benchmarks or resolution-rate rankings, and a list ordered by quality would be inventing a measurement we did not take.
What to do instead: run the thirty-minute procedure above on your own tickets. Your deflection rate on your own volume is the only number that decides your bill, and it is knowable in an afternoon on the free tiers.
The verdict
If you are leaving Zendesk over the AI bill, **do not leave**. Layer eesel or a comparable agent onto the instance you already run and keep your history, your macros and your reporting. That is the cheapest correct answer and it is the one no vendor-written list gives, because nobody sells it.
If you are leaving over the seat bill, **Freshdesk** is the like-for-like move and **Zoho Desk** is the cheaper one, with the trade being interface polish rather than capability. If you sell on Shopify, **Gorgias** is not a cheaper Zendesk, it is a different product that answers the question your customers actually ask.
And if you want the most capable agent and can absorb a bill that rises with its success, **Fin** is still the best of them — with the caveat that its owner will shortly be Salesforce, and nobody has said what happens then.
Zendesk's rates were read on 25 August 2026 and every alternative's figures carry their own read-date in the cards above. Prices in this category move: one vendor in this list repriced twice in 2026 and another changed its billing unit entirely. If you find a figure here that is stale, tell us and it gets corrected and re-dated.
Frequently Asked
What is the best Zendesk alternative in 2026?
It depends on which complaint you are solving, and three answers cover most cases. If the AI cost is the problem, layer eesel at $0.40 a task onto the Zendesk you already run rather than migrating at all. If the seat bill is the problem, Freshdesk at $18 an agent or Zoho Desk at $7 against Zendesk's $55 Suite Team. If you sell on Shopify, Gorgias, because it is the only one whose agent reads live order data rather than answering from a policy page.
How much does Zendesk actually cost?
Read on 25 August 2026: Support Team US$19, Suite Team US$55 and Suite Professional US$115 per agent per month billed annually, with Suite Enterprise quoted. Add-ons sit on top per agent: Copilot $50, Workforce Engagement $50, Contact Center $83. Automated resolutions are metered separately at roughly $1.50 to $2.00 with no included allowance. Note the page only renders annual prices server-side, so the widely-quoted $25/$69/$149 are the monthly rates and comparing them against a competitor's annual rate overstates Zendesk by about a fifth.
Is it worth migrating away from Zendesk?
Often not, and the reason is the migration cost nobody prices. Tickets and contacts import cleanly; macros, triggers, automations, SLA policies and custom forms are rebuilt by hand, reporting history is almost always lost, and anything built on the Zendesk apps framework does not port at all. Count your active macros and triggers, multiply by about fifteen minutes each, and compare that to what you are saving. If your complaint is the AI rather than the help desk, a layered agent removes the reason to move.
Which Zendesk alternative has the best AI?
We do not publish a ranking, because we do not run a benchmark and a ranking would imply we had. What is checkable is the capability class: Gorgias, Fin, Zoho, HubSpot, Chatwoot and eesel can change something in a system of record, while Freshdesk, Help Scout, Tidio and Re:amaze answer from documentation, and Front, HappyFox and Richpanel draft for a human. If most of your tickets need an order or account lookup, an agent in the second group will deflect very little of your volume regardless of how well it writes.
What is the cheapest Zendesk alternative?
Zoho Desk Express at $7 a user a month for real ticketing, and Chatwoot at $0 if you self-host. Chatwoot's free is not cheap once you count the server, backups, TLS, SMTP deliverability, upgrades and somebody's time — deliverability defeats more self-hosted help desk deployments than any missing feature. Help Scout, Tidio and Chatwoot cloud all have free tiers you can evaluate tonight without a card.
Can I keep Zendesk and just replace the AI?
Yes, and for a large share of teams searching for alternatives this is the actual answer. Layered agents such as eesel attach to your existing help desk and bill $0.40 per regular task against Zendesk's $1.50 to $2.00 per automated resolution, with no migration, no retraining and no loss of reporting history. No vendor-written comparison recommends this because nobody selling a help desk benefits from it.
Tools Mentioned
Full reviews, pricing tiers and where each one breaks.
Freshdesk with Freddy AI
Cheaper than Zendesk with a comparable feature list. The trade shows up in depth rather than breadth.
Zoho Desk
The cheapest credible help desk with published per-agent pricing and a genuine free plan.
Help Scout
Chosen for simplicity rather than power. AI drafts and summaries, not an autonomous agent.
Gorgias
The Shopify-native default, with the deepest order, return and refund actions in this category.
You Can Also Look Into
AI Customer Service Pricing in 2026: Per-Resolution vs Per-Seat, Modelled
Published rates from fourteen vendors, the total cost modelled at three team sizes, and the per-seat alternative that ranking pages leave out because none of them sell it.
Customer Support Software for Small Business: 8 Options Priced (2026)
Eight options that make sense below ten agents, with the annual cost at 3, 5 and 10 seats and the ones that will waste your money.
7 Best Open Source Help Desk Software Options in 2026 (Self-Hosted)
Seven self-hosted options with what each actually costs to run — server, setup time and maintenance — against the SaaS bill you would otherwise pay.
10 Best Gorgias Alternatives in 2026, After Gorgias Repriced in August
Gorgias repriced in August and now bundles the helpdesk with the AI Agent, over two separate overage meters. Ten alternatives priced against the new rate card, plus the seat caps almost nobody reports and the Q4 arithmetic that decides whether leaving is worth it.
SOURCES
- Zendesk — pricing (read 25 Aug 2026)
- Freshworks — Freshdesk pricing
- Help Scout — pricing
- Gorgias — pricing
- Gorgias — onboarding, average time to launch
- Zoho — Desk pricing
- Fin — pricing
- Intercom — pricing
- Chatwoot — pricing
- Tidio — pricing
- HubSpot — Service Hub pricing
- eesel AI — pricing
- G2 — Zendesk Support Suite reviews
- G2 — Freshdesk reviews
- G2 — Zoho Desk reviews
- Zendesk, Inc. — Form 8-K, 18 November 2022 (SEC)
- SEC EDGAR — Zendesk, Inc. filing history
- Freshworks Inc. — Form 10-K FY2025 (SEC)
- r/SaaS — migrating from Zendesk + Intercom, 11 May 2026
- r/ModernITSM — Zendesk is not an ITSM tool, 3 August 2026
- r/issuetrak — best Zendesk alternatives for small business, 9 June 2026
- Hacker News — a free Intercom/Zendesk alternative, 10 August 2026
WRITTEN BY AR · UPDATED 2026-08-25
I read the fine print. Vendor pricing pages, billing definitions, terms, funding filings and acquisition notices — then I do the arithmetic nobody publishes: what a platform actually costs at your volume, what its headline metric is really counting, and who owns it now. I do not run benchmarks, and no page here pretends otherwise.