guide

Does Your AI Support Vendor Bill the Attempt or the Outcome?

Two vendors moved their meter this year, in opposite directions.

By AR · Published 17 August 2026 · 7 min read

Everyone writing about AI support pricing explains the difference between per-conversation and per-resolution billing. Almost nobody says which vendors do which, which is the only part you can act on.

The five results ranking for this question when we checked were all published by companies selling one of the tools. So here is the version with names in it.

Why the meter matters more than the rate

A per-attempt meter charges whether or not the AI helped. If it fails and a human picks up, you pay twice — once for the attempt, once for the salary. The worse the agent performs, the more you owe.

A per-outcome meter inverts that: you pay for the share that worked. It also creates an incentive worth naming out loud, because the vendor is now the one deciding what counts as a success.

Neither is dishonest. But they behave in opposite directions as quality changes, and a rate card cannot tell you which you are looking at.

The two that moved this year

HubSpot repriced Breeze in April 2026, from $1.00 per conversation to $0.50 per resolved conversation. The headline rate halved and, more importantly, the meter moved from attempts to outcomes.

Kustomer went the other way, and its own historical pricing page is explicit about what triggers the charge. An engaged conversation at $0.60 is counted when an AI automation attempted to generate a response, regardless of whether it was ultimately sent — and also when an AI team viewed or opened the conversation, even without sending a response.

Read those two sentences next to each other. One vendor decided to charge only when it worked. The other charges when its software looked at the ticket.

What happens when the customer walks away

The sharpest test of a meter is abandonment, because it is the case where nobody was helped and somebody still gets billed. We read fourteen platforms' terms on exactly this question.

PlatformBilled byPublished rateAbandoned conversation
Fin (formerly Intercom)Per resolution$0.99 per outcome, $9.99 per sales qualificationBills
GorgiasPer ticket$40-$1,227/mo bundled by volume, then $0.36-0.40 per ticket and $1.50 per automated interactionBills
Tidio LyroPer conversation$0-2,999/mo, two metersBills
ManyChatOther$0.004–$0.10 per active contact over the allowance, by tierBills
FiniPer resolution$0.89 or $0.69 per resolution, above a $3,000-$7,500 monthly platform feeNot stated
SierraPer resolution~$1.50 per resolved interaction (reported, not published)Not stated
eesel AIPer ticket$0.40 per regular task, $4.00 per heavy taskNot stated
Help ScoutPer seat$25-75 per user per month, AI Answers $0.75 per resolutionNot stated
HubSpot BreezePer seat$7-150 per seat per month, plus 50 credits per resolved conversationNot stated
DecagonOtherNot publishedNot stated
AdaOtherNot publishedNot stated
Zendesk AI AgentsPer seat$19-115 per agent per month billed annually, plus add-ons and a separate resolution meterDoes not bill
Freshdesk with Freddy AIPer seat$19-89 per agent per month, Freddy AI $49 per 100 sessionsDoes not bill
HappyFoxPer seat$24-99 per agent per month, billed annuallyDoes not bill
Zoho DeskPer seat$7-40 per user per monthDoes not bill
ChatBot by TextPer resolution$0.99 per resolution once the allowance runs outDoes not bill
ChatfuelOther$49/month flat. No per-conversation or per-resolution charge.Does not bill
WhatsApp Business PlatformOther$2.00 per 1M tokens for Meta Business Agent messagesDoes not bill

READ FROM PUBLISHED PRICING PAGES AND TERMS · SOURCES AND DATES ON /BILLING-DEFINITIONS

The largest group is the one that will not say. That is the finding: on the single question most likely to inflate a bill, half the vendors we could read published nothing definite.

Fin is the clearest of those that do answer, and it answers in the buyer's disfavour. Its pricing page defines a resolution as occurring when no further help is requested after Fin's last answer. A customer who gives up and closes the tab has not requested further help, so that is billable. A handoff to your team without an outcome is not charged.

So on the same platform, an unhappy customer who abandons costs you money and an unhappy customer who reaches a human does not.

The seat floor underneath the meter

The other thing a usage rate hides is what you pay before any usage happens.

PlatformHeadline rateWhat is required underneath
Fin (formerly Intercom)$0.99 per outcome, $9.99 per sales qualificationSeats from $29 with the helpdesk; none on standalone Fin, which instead carries a 50-outcome monthly minimum.
Fini$0.89 or $0.69 per resolution, above a $3,000-$7,500 monthly platform feeNo seats, and the human team is never charged — but there is a platform floor of $3,000 a month, which is the part the headline rate leaves out.
Sierra~$1.50 per resolved interaction (reported, not published)Not stated
Gorgias$40-$1,227/mo bundled by volume, then $0.36-0.40 per ticket and $1.50 per automated interactionNo per-agent pricing, but seats are capped rather than unlimited: 3 on Starter, 500 on Basic, Pro and Advanced.
eesel AI$0.40 per regular task, $4.00 per heavy taskNo seats, but you need a help desk underneath — eesel is an automation layer, not a platform.
Zendesk AI Agents$19-115 per agent per month billed annually, plus add-ons and a separate resolution meterSeats are the unit.
Freshdesk with Freddy AI$19-89 per agent per month, Freddy AI $49 per 100 sessionsSeats are the unit.
Help Scout$25-75 per user per month, AI Answers $0.75 per resolutionSeats are the unit. Free tier up to 5 users and 100 contacts a month.
Tidio Lyro$0-2,999/mo, two metersNo.
HubSpot Breeze$7-150 per seat per month, plus 50 credits per resolved conversationYes. Starter $7, Professional $90, Enterprise $150 — plus a mandatory one-time onboarding fee of $1,500 on Professional and $3,500 on Enterprise, which no comparison table includes.
HappyFox$24-99 per agent per month, billed annuallySeats are the unit. The unlimited-agent plan we previously priced is no longer costed on the page.
Zoho Desk$7-40 per user per monthSeats are the unit.
DecagonNot publishedNot stated
AdaNot publishedNot stated
ChatBot by Text$0.99 per resolution once the allowance runs out$19 per user per month annual, $25 monthly, minimum one user
ManyChat$0.004–$0.10 per active contact over the allowance, by tierNo seat floor for automation; extra Inbox seats are $25 each on Pro and Business. Free tier at 25 contacts.
Chatfuel$49/month flat. No per-conversation or per-resolution charge.Not stated
WhatsApp Business Platform$2.00 per 1M tokens for Meta Business Agent messagesNone. No subscription and no seats — pure usage.

This is where a cheap-looking per-resolution rate stops being cheap. A rate of $0.20 on top of a $99 seat is a different product from $0.99 with no seat, and the crossover depends entirely on your volume.

The three questions that settle it

What event triggers the charge — an attempt, a send, or a confirmed outcome? What happens when a customer abandons mid-conversation? And what do I pay in a month where the AI resolves nothing?

A vendor that answers all three in writing has designed its unit. A vendor that answers the third with a shrug is selling you a meter it has not finished thinking about, and you will find the edges in your first invoice.

Billing terms read on each vendor's own pricing or documentation pages and dated in our records. Where a vendor's terms do not address abandonment, we record that rather than inferring an answer.

Frequently Asked

Is per-resolution pricing better than per-conversation?

It behaves better as quality changes. A per-attempt meter charges whether or not the AI helped, so a weak agent costs you twice — the fee plus the human who picks up. A per-outcome meter means you pay for the share that worked. The trade is that the vendor now defines what counts as a success, which is why the definition matters more than the rate.

Which vendors bill for a conversation the AI did not resolve?

Kustomer's own terms are the most explicit: a conversation is engaged, and billable, when an AI automation attempted to generate a response regardless of whether it was sent, or when an AI team viewed or opened the conversation without sending one. HubSpot moved the other way in April 2026, from $1.00 per conversation to $0.50 per resolved conversation.

Do I pay if the customer gives up and closes the chat?

On some platforms, yes. Fin defines a resolution as occurring when no further help is requested after its last answer, and a customer who abandons has not requested further help — so it bills. A handoff to a human without an outcome does not. Of the fourteen platforms whose terms we read, the largest group does not address abandonment at all.

What is the catch with a low per-resolution rate?

Usually a seat floor underneath it. A $0.20 rate on top of a $99-per-agent platform is a different purchase from $0.99 with no seats, and which is cheaper flips at a volume you can calculate. Always price the platform fee and the usage meter together.

What should I ask a vendor about billing?

Three things, in writing. What event triggers the charge — attempt, send, or confirmed outcome. What happens when a customer abandons mid-conversation. And what the bill looks like in a month where the AI resolves nothing. The third question is the one that exposes an unfinished pricing model.

Tools Mentioned

Full reviews, pricing tiers and where each one breaks.

You Can Also Look Into

WRITTEN BY AR · UPDATED 2026-08-17

I read the fine print. Vendor pricing pages, billing definitions, terms, funding filings and acquisition notices — then I do the arithmetic nobody publishes: what a platform actually costs at your volume, what its headline metric is really counting, and who owns it now. I do not run benchmarks, and no page here pretends otherwise.

Editorial policy